Lyam Chenaux

Award-winning young cellist Lyam Chenaux was born in 2009 in Lausanne into a family of musicians: his mother plays cello and flute and his grandmother – piano and organ. He started playing cello at the age of five and joined the studio of Professor Denis Severin at the Zakhar Bron School of Music in 2021.

Lyam is a passionate young musician and he is committed to mastering his performance skills. To reach this goal, he studies cello with his Professor at the School, performs at different concerts and festivals, attends various cello masterclasses, plays cello with a local string orchestra and participates in national competitions – where he has won seven first prizes as a cello player in the last three years:

  • Swiss Youth National Music Competition (SYNMC) 2018: 1st prize at the Entrada and 1st prize in the finale (cello category solo I)
  • Bach Competition 2019 in Sion: the 1st prize and the grand prix in all categories
  • SYNMC 2019: 2nd prize in Entrada (duo I category)
  • Riviera Competition 2019: absolute 1st prize in solo and duo categories
  • Baroque Competition 2021 in Sion: the 1st prize and the grand prix in all categories
  • SYNMC 2021: 1st prize at the Entrada and the 1st prize with distinction in the finale (baroque music category)

In 2020 he also won the first prize at the SYNMC in the composition category. Lyam also participated in the Rising Stars Berlin international online competition 2020 and 2021 (and won 1st prize both times) and in the Nouvelles Etoiles 2021 Paris 4th Edition international online competition where he won the 1st prize and two special prizes.

As a young cellist, Lyam has performed at several concerts and festivals in the country, such as:

  • Association des Amis de l’Ecole de Musique de Cossonay (2018)
  • Les pages musicales de La Chaux Festival (2019)
  • Festival4saisons at the Lausanne Opera (2021)
  • Festival Classique Puplinges in Geneva (2021)
  • Week-End Musical de Pully Festival (2018, 2019 and 2021)
  • The Bachwochen (Bach Weeks) Bach Festival at the Thun Lake (2021)

Despite his young age, he has already performed as a soloist with the Budweis Philharmonic Orchestra (Czech Republic): he played the 1st movement of Haydn’s Concerto in C (for which he even composed the final cadenza) at the International Summer Academy 2020 in Biel.

At the age of nine, Lyam joined the Lausanne Conservatory Ministrings orchestra of young string musicians (under the baton of T. Strinning and B. Batt) where he has been playing as a cellist ever since. He also plays chamber music in duo and trio, notably with Raphael Bollengier (piano). Lyam also plays the oboe and studies music composition.

Due to his outstanding musical talent, Lyam was granted financial support from the Burkhalter, Lyra and Fritz Gerber foundations in 2020 and 2021.

Lyam Chenaux

Der preisgekrönte junge Cellist Lyam Chenaux wurde 2009 in Lausanne in eine Musikerfamilie hineingeboren: seine Mutter spielt Cello und Flöte, seine Großmutter Klavier und Orgel. Er begann im Alter von fünf Jahren mit dem Cellospiel und trat 2021 ins Studio von Prof. Denis Severin an der Zakhar Bron School of Music ein.

Lyam ist ein leidenschaftlicher junger Musiker und bestrebt, seine Fähigkeiten am Instrument zu verbessern. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, studiert er Cello bei seinem Lehrer an der Schule, tritt bei Konzerten und Festivals auf, besucht Cello-Meisterkurse, spielt Cello in einem lokalen Streichorchester und nimmt an nationalen Wettbewerben teil – wo er in den letzten drei Jahren sieben erste Preise als Cellist gewonnen hat:

  • Schweizerischer Jugendmusikwettbewerb (SJMW) 2018: 1. Preis in der Entrada und 1. Preis im Finale (Kategorie Cello solo I)
  • Bach-Wettbewerb 2019 in Sitten: 1. Preis und Grand Prix in allen Kategorien
  • SJMW 2019: 2. Preis in der Entrada (Kategorie Duo I)
  • Riviera-Wettbewerb 2019: 1er Prix absolu in den Kategorien Solo und Ensemble
  • Barockwettbewerb 2021 in Sitten: 1. Preis und Grosser Preis in allen Kategorien
  • SJMW 2021: 1. Preis in der Entrada und 1. Preis mit Auszeichnung im Finale (Kategorie Barockmusik)

Im Jahr 2020 gewann Lyam beim SJMW auch den ersten Preis in der Kategorie Komposition. 2020 und 2021 nahm Lyam am internationalen Online-Wettbewerb Rising Stars Berlin teil und gewann beide Male den 1. Preis. Auch am internationalen Online-Wettbewerb Nouvelles Etoiles 2021 Paris 4th Edition gewann er den 1. Preis und zwei Sonderpreise.

Als junger Cellist ist Lyam bei mehreren Konzerten und Festivals aufgetreten, wie z.B.:

  • Association des Amis de l’Ecole de Musique de Cossonay (2018)
  • Festival Les pages musicales de La Chaux (2019)
  • Festival4saisons an der Oper Lausanne (2021)
  • Festival Classique Puplinges in Genf (2021)
  • Festival Week-End Musical de Pully (2018, 2019 und 2021)
  • Bachwochen Festival am Thunersee (2021)

Trotz seines jungen Alters ist Lyam bereits als Solist mit dem Philharmonischen Orchester Budweis (Tschechische Republik) aufgetreten: an der Internationalen Sommerakademie 2020 in Biel spielte er den 1. Satz von Haydns Konzert in C , für das er sogar die Schlusskadenz komponierte.

Im Alter von neun Jahren wurde Lyam Mitglied des Ministrings-Orchesters für junge Streicher des Konservatoriums Lausanne (unter der Leitung von T. Strinning und B. Batt), wo er seither als Cellist tätig ist. Er spielt auch Kammermusik im Duo und Trio, vor allem mit Raphael Bollengier (Klavier). Lyam spielt auch Oboe und studiert Musikkomposition.

Aufgrund seiner herausragenden musikalischen Begabung wird Lyam in den Jahren 2020 und 2021 von den Stiftungen Burkhalter, Lyra und Fritz Gerber finanziell unterstützt.